OTHER FACTS ABOUT KENTUCKY AND KENTUCKY’S DRIVING LAWS

  • By law, the Kentucky Transportation Cabinet is required to maintain driving history information, including crashes, for all Kentucky Licensed drivers for a period of five years. (Information may be retained longer for commercial drivers depending on the entry). Three year records are also maintained. Insurance companies can obtain a three year record. Points assessed to a driver’s license are removed two years from the date of conviction. The violation will remain on the record for the five year period above. (Three years for insurance companies)
  • A copy of your driving record may be obtained through the Division of Driver’s Licensing.
    • 200 Mero Street, Transportation Cabinet Bldg, Frankfort KY 40622 (502) 564-0276
  • Drivers 18 and over are scheduled for a hearing when they have accumulated twelve points or more within a two year period. Drivers under 18 are scheduled for a hearing when they have accumulated seven points or more within a two year period.
  • There is not an automatic suspension for racing, speeding 26 mph or more over the posted limit or eluding. A hearing is offered and the licensee’s driving privilege is either suspended for ninety days or probated for six months for the first conviction.
  • Kentucky has a primary child restraint law. You may be pulled over and charged for a violation of the law if you do not comply with the following. Children forty (40) inches in height or less must be secured in a federally approved child restraint system.
    • If you cannot afford a federally approved child restraint system, check with your local health department, hospital and/or social services offices.
  • Kentucky has a primary seat belt law. A driver and all passengers must wear a seatbelt unless in a vehicle built in 1981 or earlier. The driver may be fined $25 per person plus court cost. Drivers should take the initiative to insure their passengers wear the seat belt or will be held responsible.
  • If you are over the age of 21, your operator’s license is to be renewed every four years during your birth month. Persons under age 21 are issued a license which expires 90 days after their 21st birthday.
  • If a license is not renewed within one year from the last day of the licensee’s birth month, a written and eye examination must be successfully completed before it can be renewed. Any time your driving privilege is suspended, a $40 reinstatement/re-licensing fee is required.
  • To replace a lost license, an applicant may need a signed social security card, insurance card, or policy, birth certificate or any two pieces of identification which contain a signature or any other ID required by the Circuit Court Clerk.
  • If your address or name changes, you are required by law to obtain a new license with the correct information from the Circuit Court Clerk in your County of Residence. (For Fayette County Residents visit the Fayette County Clerk located on Main Street). This license must be obtained for the appropriate fee within ten days of the name/address change. You can be cited for non-compliance.